THROAT CANCER | CANCER JOURNEY | MEN & HPV CANCER

My Husband’s Journey with Throat Cancer

From diagnoses to treatment

Barbara Carter
Middle-Pause
Published in
10 min readAug 28, 2023

--

National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

Since my husband is now preparing for radiation treatment for prostate cancer, I’m reflecting back to 10 years ago when he dealt with throat cancer.

January 10, 2013, my husband and I visited our family doctor for his blood test results and a checkup on the mild sore throat he’d had for months. While examining him, she discovered he had swollen lymph nodes on one side of his neck.

The doctor immediately suspected cancer.

Possibly in the salivary gland. She set up an ultrasound appointment at the local community health centre.

Ultrasound results were unclear. The doctor set up a CT scan at the same health care centre and referred my husband to an ENT (ear, nose, and throat) doctor to have a biopsy performed on his lymph node.

January 28, 2013, we went to a nearby city for the ENT doctor appointment.

The doctor viewed my husband’s throat with a scope. It was then the doctor saw a lesion on the base of my husband’s tongue. “Throat cancer,” he said. “You’ll be lucky to live 5 years.”

He performed a needle biopsy from…

--

--

Barbara Carter
Middle-Pause

Memoir. Life Lessons. Creativity. Art. Healing. Relationships. Books.