Aging with grace

My Shapewear Tried to Kill Me

Just another one of Mother Nature’s little jokes

Michelle Spencer
Middle-Pause
Published in
5 min readJun 23, 2023

--

Image courtesy of OpenClipart-Vectors

Each day is always breaking out anew Aspirations swirling round what you do ― Richard L. Ratliff

That is of course unless you are smack in the middle of menopause, then each day is like breaking out a new hormone, gut pouch, or skin blotch swirling round hot flash swirls. These symptoms, or if Bob Ross was around, he would call them happy little hormone humps, seem to show up more frequently than my Amazon delivery man in December.

I went to bed one night and snored some type of melon super seed into my mouth and by morning I woke up with this tummy pouch. After three months of waking up to this growth, I threw my hands up, named it Percy, and embraced the fact that it's Mother Nature’s little party favor.

About three weeks ago I remembered we have a formal wedding to go to, and I ring up my daughter to borrow the long black dress we share. It’s an elegant mermaid-style dress with a sexy high-side slit. I am in the middle of trying on several pairs of shoes to see what works best with the dress and look in the mirror in horror. Percy is poking out like a puffer fish who has eaten the mermaid.

--

--

Michelle Spencer
Middle-Pause

Michelle is a freelance writer that stems from a personal curiosity about people, and situations that take up too much time in therapy to talk about.