MENTAL HEALTH

Not Your Mama’s Old Attachment Theory Plus the Benefits of Online Self-Paced Therapy

The transformative power of modern-day attachment theory and online resources

Bette A. Ludwig 🔍 PhD
Middle-Pause
Published in
7 min readFeb 28, 2024

--

Mother laying on bed with 2 young daughters representing modern attachment theory
Image by Andrii Shevchuk from Vecteezy

Why is it so hard to lean into who we are and show up for ourselves?

I learned that phrase last year when I came across a series of YouTube videos by Thais Gibson, a licensed clinician, where she talked about attachment styles. I was dating someone then and did what everyone does when they need relationship advice: consult the internet.

I watched countless videos she put out, and for free, I might add, about the four attachment styles: secure, anxious, fearful or disorganized, and dismissive-avoidant. Little did I realize this unexpected discovery would reshape my life in ways I had never anticipated.

This ain’t your Grandma or Mama’s attachment theories

I remember learning about attachment in college, but like everything, it evolved. Today’s styles weren’t just vintage throwbacks but elevated, modernized, and more relatable. They were accessible everywhere online with completely revamped names except for secure attachment.

--

--

Bette A. Ludwig 🔍 PhD
Middle-Pause

Former Academic➟ Boosted & Versatile Writer ➟ 🌪️Passions: Education❖PSY❖Personal Development❖Leadership❖Mental Health ⇝Sharing Humor▪️Insights▪️Facts▪️Research