Our Brand New Billing System

How our dental clinic got an office, and who catalyzed it

Tooth Truth Roopa Vikesh
Middle-Pause

--

Author’s image.

Change is hard

My husband Vikesh and I run a dental clinic. We’ve been making handwritten paper bills for 24 years now.

I did not want to change. I was perfectly happy, rattling along to the clinic, making more money than I spent. If I had money left over for protein shakes, I must be making some money, right?

Our crutch, a sketchy lawyer

At the end of the financial year, my husband would dump all our paper bills and receipts upon our lawyer, who would then file our returns.

In November 2023, we were visited in India by my brother’s wife, who is a CPA in the USA. She sowed the first seed of doubt about our ‘system.’ She didn’t understand why we needed a lawyer. She looked at our papers and IT returns and said that having a lawyer was an unnecessary and overpaid layer.

My husband fought for his comfort zone. Who but the lawyer would go through the bundles of patient receipts? I shrank into the corner. Not for me, the flipping through the receipts and bills we had paid all year. I had a comfort zone too.

I called it, “turning a blind eye.”

--

--

Tooth Truth Roopa Vikesh
Middle-Pause

I don’t just create smiles, I inspire them! Dentist, mom—Jamshedpur, India.