Ramp Up Your Confidence

New friends, inner weeding, rapid remakes, and quick tips

Aikya Param
Middle-Pause

--

Scanned cartoon by author

I have lumbered under a load of low self-confidence most of my life. Well, that makes me a champion collector of correctives for low self-esteem. Some take time. Others are quick fixes to use on and off.

Clearing the outside

I grew up with an emotionally abusive mother. That means I was used to nonstop criticism, belittling, and nagging about all the things I still didn’t do well enough. I collected a coterie of friends who treated me the same way. One fine day I saw the similarity between friends’ treatment of me and my mom’s. worst attribute.

No more!

Over a few months, I approached each friend. I told them I was healing from some old hurtful situations and described my mother’s abuse. I let them know that sometimes they treated me the same way and I’d like us to find other ways to communicate.

Some became very angry with me and stormed out of my life. Folks able to hear and understand worked with me and remained friends. They saw similar abuse in their own lives and we healed together.

--

--

Aikya Param
Middle-Pause

Rev. Aikya Param is a minister at Oakland Center for Spiritual Living in Oakland, California, a published author and visual artist.