Reigniting a Lost Love Affair. Is there a Future for Us?

We haven’t always seen eye to eye, but I’m giving it another go

Cathylouise
Middle-Pause

--

Porridge with blueberries and brown sugar (own picture)

I’s No, I’m not talking about my marriage.

That’s done and dead. I’m talking about a food relationship with porridge. Who knew those little oats could cause so much pain and soul searching.

Ok, maybe that is a little bit of an exaggeration.

You see, I have IBS (irritable bowel syndrome), which means there are several foods I cannot eat. There are several other foods that, while I can eat them, I need to be careful and limit my intake.

Most of these are obvious, processed foods, sugar, and high-fat food.

Some of the foods on my watch and remove list are not so obvious. Cucumber (and all its relatives) and bananas are prime examples, although I used to manage cooked bananas: oranges and orange juice others. I have to be careful with most fruit juices, which is very annoying.

Dairy is my biggest nemesis, and I have written about our ongoing issues before.

So, what about oats?

We’ll get to them in a minute. Firstly let’s talk about IBS

--

--

Cathylouise
Middle-Pause

Writer & poet. Working on my first novel. Loves metal/rock. Follower of the old gods/pagan/heathen. She/her.