Searching for Nectar

Some lessons on nurturing

Margie Pearl
Middle-Pause

--

Bee fly on yellow safety vest/ photo courtesy of Margie Pearl

It’s Labor Day and my summer job has almost ended. I’ve been outside interviewing visitors about their experience in local parks and trails.

I don’t know which has been more captivating? Hearing the stories or witnessing how people and animals move through the landscape.

Each day is unique

  • I’ve seen wild turkeys stop traffic on the University of Minnesota campus.
  • Near the Mall of America, an eagle nabbed a fish less than fifty feet away from me.
  • A wild fox stared me down on a bike trail by a city creek.
  • A woman took her rescue dog out paddle boarding. He even had a life vest.

Not everyone will bother with a six-minute interview. They are there to de-stress.

People are generous with their skills

A woman showed me how to put a paddleboard on the car rack if I’m going solo.

  1. Put the paddle on the ground with the fin up
  2. Walk the paddleboard up like you do a ladder
  3. Rest it on your head (make sure you’re centered)
  4. Walk it over to your car and slide it onto the rack. Easy Peasy.

--

--

Margie Pearl
Middle-Pause

Tell me a story! margie@margiepearl.com. Author, storyteller, poet, seamstress, knitter, gardener. Bio.link/margiepe