Seeing the Sun In a Whole New Light

Getting to view my first eclipse

Thoughts a Thinking
Middle-Pause

--

photo courtesy of Thoughts a Thinking

Well, what an experience for those of us in the path of totality.

It took me 61 years to finally experience an eclipse.

As a kid, I do remember one eclipse. Was it a total or a partial? I don’t remember. All I do remember is that I was afraid to look outdoors. At that age, who wouldn’t be? If you look at the eclipse, you may damage your eyes if you don’t have the right glasses, which I did not.

Back in the 70s, there wasn’t the hype there is today, and the ability to get glasses at the local libraries just wasn’t there.

My husband was the one who said let’s take the two-hour drive to get to where we thought we would have the best chance for viewing. Of course, it was also a place we like to go shop a few times a year.

He’s always up for an adventure.

“Wanna go?” he asked.

“You betcha,” I said.

The weather forecast kept saying it would be great, so this was our plan: We were going to view the eclipse.

We got our ISO-approved glasses. Decided to make a day of it. It was a sunny day for the drive. Light clouds were in the sky in the morning. Weather forecasts said that…

--

--