Aging gracefully or not

Some Folks Refer to Their Age Constantly, While Some Never Mention It

We have a choice to limit ourselves by age or rise above and go beyond

Carol Lennox
Middle-Pause
Published in
7 min readApr 11, 2024

--

Older woman dressed in hippie clothes playing with a fake cloud in a garden. Peace. Older. Healthy.
Photo by Jonathan Cooper: https://www.pexels.com/photo/black-and-white-portrait-of-dancing-woman-in-dress-9889984/

I attended a garden party of neighbors last evening, gathered around a large patio table, swapping true-life tales and lies.

The hostess, who is around my age, was agog and disbelieving that I was considering learning pole dancing. I’m offended.

“What?? You’ll break a hip, Carol! Weren’t two broken ankles enough?”

Granted, she helped take care of me when I broke both ankles, so maybe she was looking out for herself when she discouraged my learning to pole dance.

The demographic at this party skewed older. Until one person arrived with his teenager, the youngest was 52. She’s hilarious and usually entertains us with her sharp sense of humor.

Last night, though, she was on one of the slippery slopes leading away from congenial, relaxing conversation. She went on about terrible news stories and then health issues.

I’m a therapist, and have difficulty with those topics, as my work days are full of distressing and often depressing stories and situations. I prefer my downtime to be light.

--

--

Carol Lennox
Middle-Pause

Psychotherapist sharing new choices. Leans far Left. Mindfulness practitioner before it was cool. LPC, M.Ed. Helping you make a difference every day