The Dirty Word Women Need to Stop Saying

‘Should’ is the modern woman’s shackle.

Mary Gallagher
Middle-Pause

--

Photo by Ryan Moreno on Unsplash

‘Should’ is the modern woman’s shackle. It ties us to guilt and shame and “never good enough.” — Mary Gallagher

I have my list of personal ‘shoulds’ and I am sure you do too. I’ve carried them around like a ball and chain. They kept me bound to societal pressures, family expectations, religious rules, and my own unrealistic expectations of perfection.

Our ‘should’ lists can contain the hard stuff: I should call the friend I lost touch with; I should visit my mother-in-law; I should lose 35 pounds. Or they can be senseless things that we have somehow elevated to the status of life-altering or necessary in order to be a good mom, wife, friend.

Shoulds like: I should document every first day of school like a good mom would. or I should make homemade lunches and sew my own pillows only serve to drain emotional energy that could be used in loving ourselves and others.

--

--

Mary Gallagher
Middle-Pause

I cut the stress, slowed down, and learned the art of intentional living. When you declutter your soul, you make room for what matters. @The Decluttered Soul