The Essence of My Womanhood

A poem in celebration of International Women’s Day

Phyllis Unterschuetz
Middle-Pause
Published in
2 min readMar 9, 2024

--

A broken blue ceramic heart, lying on a blue background, with a light inside that shines out through the cracks
Photo by 愚木混株 cdd20 on Unsplash

I began as a genderless soul —
a point of light that yearned,
from its moment of creation,
to return to its Creator.

I was given a fertilized egg to care for,
to protect and cheer for,
to accompany for
an unknown stretch of earth-time.

I was adorned with the attributes of God,
instructed to nurture them,
use them to guide my companion-body
through its life of darkness and light.

I watched as my body grew a uterus,
as female hormones flooded its unformed brain
and bubbled through its tiny network of
electrical circuits and fluid-filled tubes.

I didn’t yet know what this would mean.

I saw my companion thrust squalling from her soft warm womb-home
into the hard cold glare of the world she would travel.
Afraid.
Confused.

--

--

Phyllis Unterschuetz
Middle-Pause

I write memoir & personal essays, poetry, and occasional fairy tales. My topics are racial justice, spirituality, and self-discovery. 3 x top writer.