The Mindfulness of a Mindless Game

How a deck of cards reminded me of fate and free will in life

Vivian McInerny
Middle-Pause

--

Image by Sangshu Purkait on Unsplash

Look, I’m the blabby sort. I picture my deathbed surrounded by loved ones while I pontificate on life, love, and the glowing winged creature hovering in the corner checking her watch.

This is (more or less) the profound and meaningful farewell a friend of mine imagined when he went to visit his dying dad.

What he got instead were games of solitaire.

His father spent his final days focused on a deck of playing cards. He cut and shuffled. He shuffled again. Over and over until he felt satisfied with their random order.

And then he proceeded to sort them once again into neat rows of suits in ascending order.

He could have avoided talking about his looming death by reading, binging mindless television, or even simply closing his eyes to feign sleep.

Instead, he dealt cards.

Photo by Mag Pole on Unsplash

A natural talker, I dismissed silence as avoidance.

--

--

Vivian McInerny
Middle-Pause

Career journalist, essayist, fiction writer, and life-long spirit-quester.