The True History of the Women Warriors of the Movie, Black Panther

The Dahomey Amazons were the real fearless, fighting soldiers depicted by the Dora Milaje.

Debbie Walker
Middle-Pause

--

Image by Melan Magazine

The other day when I was watching my favorite movie, Black Panther, the thought occurred to me to write about the fearless fighting unit of the king’s bodyguard in honor of Black History Month. The female soldiers in the movie are known as the fictional Dora Milaje,(adored ones) depicting the real-life Dahomey Amazons.

I’ve always been captivated by the concept of women as warriors. Even as a child, I read stories and comic books about female superheroes daring to believe one day I might become one. (Oh, the dreams of a child.)

However, I channel my warrior spirit through my actions and my writing. I believe every woman is a warrior in her own right!

Back to the movie. The Dahomey Warriors were a militaristic elite branch of women trained and disciplined to strike terror in the hearts of their enemy. Little is known of their origin, however, legend holds they began as hunters of big game to feed the villagers.

They evolved into fierce warriors commissioned to protect the king and kingdom with their blood, and ultimately their lives.

--

--

Debbie Walker
Middle-Pause

Debbie Walker is the creator of Middle-Pause, STOMP!, & published a 3-book anthology. Top Writer Food & Diversity. Follow her at https://linktr.ee/Debbie_Walker