Trying to Lose Weight in Perimenopause? Eat Breakfast

Eating in the morning will rev up your metabolism

Jennifer Romans- health writer for hire
Middle-Pause
4 min readFeb 17, 2024

--

Photo by Brooke Lark on Unsplash

As I entered my 40s, my waist increased with no change whatsoever in my daily diet or activity. Despite a year of meeting personal fitness goals, I was shocked to find none of my shorts from the past summer fit. What was happening?

Hormone Fluctuations

I had arrived in perimenopause, and my hormones were fluctuating. One unpleasant symptom of perimenopause is declining estrogen, which can lead to muscle loss and increased body fat, specifically in the waistline.

Less lean body mass and hormone changes mean you need fewer calories to maintain the same weight. I needed a solution to combat Mother Nature. I did what every busy, overtired mom does when needing a quick fix:

I searched social media for the latest dieting trend. Hello, fasting.

Is Fasting Good for Perimenopausal Women?

Diving into the research on fasting, I found it hard to deny the multiple health benefits. Intermittent fasting can mean many things but is commonly practiced as time-restricted eating. In simplest terms, it means eating during a window of time such as noon-8 pm and fasting during the remaining 24-hour period. Common fasting windows range from 12–20 hours.

Many fasters skip breakfast to prolong their fast. Black coffee is a freebie and suppresses appetite, so they wake up to a cup of coffee and go to the gym in the fasted state.

Exertion without immediate fuel available sends the body into a catabolic state. The problem with the catabolic state is that your body breaks down nutrients and mass, including lean body mass. Yikes, you are breaking down your hard-earned muscles.

Fasting also increases cortisol levels, the hormone responsible for storing belly fat and that can elevate blood pressure. What does being in a catabolic state feel like? Poor sleep, fatigue, weakness, and feeling cold.

While fasting, I was cranky, tired, and weak. Although my appetite was suppressed during the fast, I had no energy or motivation to move my body. Once I broke my fast, I was consuming large meals and craving sweets.

Many research studies on fasting men show amazing health benefits. But for fasting in women, not so much. According to the book Next Level by Stacy Sims, the data for morning fasting in active, perimenopausal women shows no increased insulin sensitivity and increased oxidative stress, with a slowing of thyroid function and metabolism.

Further slowing metabolism? No, thank you. I was looking for a way to boost my metabolism and support my body.

I found one simple hack to add to my everyday routine that changed everything — eating breakfast.

The Case for Breakfast

A recent study found that eating before 8:30 am profoundly impacts blood sugar levels and insulin resistance. The timing of meals is just as important as the food you consume.

Research shows that bodies are more insulin sensitive earlier in the day, and insulin resistance, which leads to type 2 diabetes, is more pronounced in the evening. Hormonal changes during perimenopause can also impact insulin sensitivity; this means that the body is more able to process and use calories taken in earlier in the day.

A summary published in the National Library of Medicine examined nine studies, a majority showing a correlation between skipping breakfast and weight gain. Gaining more by eating less? That sounds like a bad trade.

The research is abundant that we are not meant to process large meals in the evening when our bodies are preparing to rest.

Biology does not align with our current hustle lifestyle — rushing out the door in the morning with a large coffee and muffin, grabbing a snack at lunch, and arriving home famished to inhale a large dinner with the family.

Shifting eating patterns to a heavier morning meal and a light late meal will take some lifestyle changes and new habits, which sounds impossible. Who has time to eat the biggest meal of the day in the busy morning?

With a little preparation and planning, you can make breakfast the most important meal of the day.

Best Morning Foods

Eat foods high in protein, carbohydrates full of fiber, and healthy fats. This combination will fuel your body and keep you full longer than highly processed, sugar-filled options.

Some go-tos include the following:

  • High-protein yogurt with berries and granola
  • An egg white omelet with toast
  • A fruit smoothie with a scoop of protein powder

Rethinking Your Morning

I still savor my morning coffee when I roll out of bed, but now I enjoy it with a side of toast and eggs. My mind is more alert, and I have the energy to start my day.

On busy mornings, I prepare high-protein overnight oats to grab and go.

Still drawn to fast? Consider a 12-hour fast with an earlier eating window. By ending your eating window earlier in the evening, you can break your fast by 8:30 am.

Supporting your body and hormones will lead to a healthier and happier you.

--

--