What is a Blessing and How do I Get One?

Most cultures the world over engage in rituals of blessing or believe that blessing can positively impact their lives.

Debbie Walker
Middle-Pause

--

Courtesy Prawny on Pixabay

I’ve always loved the idea of blessing. Whether it is to offer a blessing to others, or receiving a blessing for myself. I want a blessing!

The concept is universal. Most spiritual practices engage in or theorize about blessing. Even those without religious beliefs often say, “Bless you!” when someone sneezes.

But I must define this thing called a blessing, look at the history of blessing, and learn how to go about the business of blessing. Whew! That’s a lot to fit into the space of this article. So, let’s get started.

What Is A Blessing

Dictionary.com states a blessing can be the act or words of a person who blesses, a favor bestowed, the invoking of God’s favor upon a person, or a devotion. Now that I have a working definition, I can follow the path of blessing.

In my small corner of the world, though, when we say someone is blessed, we mean that they are prospering materially, or they have a gift. For example, “She is blessed to have a nice home.” or “He is blessed with the gift of music.”

--

--

Debbie Walker
Middle-Pause

Debbie Walker is the creator of Middle-Pause, STOMP!, & published a 3-book anthology. Top Writer Food & Diversity. Follow her at https://linktr.ee/Debbie_Walker