What’s With Mary Magdalene and the Eggs? Is She the Original Easter Bunny?

And why do they talk such trash about her anyway?

Marilyn Flower
Middle-Pause

--

Photo of iconic Mary Magdeline by Basher Eyre on Wiki-Commons. SoulCollage® created by author in canva.com

I’m looking at one of my favorite ‘holiday angel’ SoulCollage® cards.*

I began making 8 X 5” collages on matt boards in 2006 when I discovered SoulCollage® on Google. I immediately ordered supplies and joined a group. There I learned how our souls speak the language of images and we can learn to read those messages.

It’s like having our own personal Tarot or divination deck.

This process, invented by Seena B. Frost, weaves together her threads of art therapy, Jungian psychology, and her Master of Divinity studies. I’m blessed to have known and been taught by her before she took her ‘spirit walk’ in 2016.

This particular card shows an iconic Mary Madeline peering into the window of a dusty art room, pointing to a white egg she’s holding in her brown hand. Like any saint in Eastern Orthodox iconic paintings, she sports a golden halo. (The above image is a remake of my original. See note below.)

I don’t know the artist, because I cut up the postcard for my collage. The card came from my favorite spiritual bookstore, Sagrada here in Oakland. Every year they send cards out reminding us how much we love to do our…

--

--

Marilyn Flower
Middle-Pause

Writer, sacred fool, improviser, avid reader, novel forthcoming, soul collage facilitator, prayer warrior and did I say writer? https://linktr.ee/marilynflower