Why You Should Never Hire a Hoarder to Work in Your Thrift Store

I messed up three times. By overlooking red flags, I hired two hoarders and a stripper.

Bebe Nicholson
Middle-Pause
Published in
7 min readNov 16, 2021

--

Photo by billow926 on Unsplash

I managed a thrift store for 15 years, and during that time I hired some great people. Customers frequently mentioned our terrific team.

But there were three times when I messed up. I didn’t spot the red flags. In all three instances, the job applicants fit my criteria for enthusiasm and flexibility. They said they would work any shift, they told me how much they loved the store, and they provided good references. Yet after I hired them, I encountered major problems.

Addicted to Shopping

My first hiring mistake was Francis,* who had been a long-time customer. I loved her sense of humor and her energy. She did great in the interview, and I hired her to be my lead cashier.

At first, everything was fine, but after a couple of weeks, I noticed long lines at the checkout counter. Customers were angry and impatient, and when I got closer, I saw why. There was no cashier!

I looked around and spotted Francis running through the aisles, frantically grabbing clothes and stuffing them in a shopping cart. She returned to the cash register, threw the clothes in a…

--

--

Bebe Nicholson
Middle-Pause

Writer, editor, publisher, journalist, author, columnist, believer in enjoying my journey and helping other people enjoy theirs. bknicholson@att.net