Your #1 Perimenopause Survival Tool to Get You Through the Darkest Days

The light at the end of the tunnel

Tracy Collins
Middle-Pause

--

https://www.canva.com/p/gettyimages/

I look back on my 20s and 30s and am amazed at how carefree I was. Life seemed to unfold (more or less) with ease. Yes, there were stressful events and happenings, but I could take things in stride.

The last decade has been a slow, steady descent.

Our mothers and grandmothers used to joke about the Change, but I don’t know any women my age laughing. Many of us are gritting our teeth and screaming into pillows. Regardless of the circumstances of our lives, there’s a consensus that everything is harder.

Physically, there are the usual suspects like weight gain and muscle loss. Though I don’t have hot flashes, I do have insomnia. But the worst (at least for me) are the emotional and psychological symptoms:

  • Brain fog
  • Critical self-doubt
  • Showing up small (or in my case not at all)
  • Cripling anxiety

I don’t know what kind of a crisis it is anymore.

Is it mid-life, burnout, existential, or perimenopause?

Probably all four.

--

--

Tracy Collins
Middle-Pause

I write about personal finance, early retirement, women in tech, travel, and life.