Your Armor is the Most Important Article You Will Wear in Your Life

Carry this knowledge into the future as a reminder that you are chosen for a purpose.

Debbie Walker
Middle-Pause

--

Photo by Omar Lopez on Unsplash

The most painful tears are not the ones that fall from your eyes and cover your face. They’re the ones that fall from your heart and cover your soul. — Lessons Learned

Baby,

I am writing this letter lest you forget the building of your armor. It will protect you during difficulty, and help you to remain resolute in times of scarcity after I am gone.

My hope is you never lose sight of the tears used in its construction.

When I first saw you, my heart melted.

You were serene with long eyelashes fluttering in sweet dreams. So gentle and quiet.

Little did I know it was because you were malnourished.

At the well-baby checkup, I told the doctor how good you are. She explained that because of nutritional deficiencies, you do not have the energy to cry.

I cried in your stead.

When I learned of your birth, I traveled by automobile from Las Vegas to Oklahoma, searching for you. Then, the path rose through the clouds and landed at the Philadelphia…

--

--

Debbie Walker
Middle-Pause

Debbie Walker is the creator of Middle-Pause, STOMP!, & published a 3-book anthology. Top Writer Food & Diversity. Follow her at https://linktr.ee/Debbie_Walker