You’re Too Old to Follow Your Dreams!

When was the last time you said those words to yourself?

Cindy Heath
Middle-Pause

--

image by the author on canva.com

Have you ever found yourself thinking, Why bother? I’m already too old to do X, learn Y, or enjoy Z.

Fill in your x, y, and z with things like learning a new hobby, getting in better shape, starting a business, or making new friends.

I recently caught myself musing; Perhaps I only have ten or twenty years left; that’s not enough time to start a new project!

What’s up with that Stinkin’ Thinkin’? I asked myself.

Giuseppe Paterno is a World War II veteran who has just become Italy’s oldest college graduate. In 2017, he began college with used textbooks and a 35-year-old typewriter. Mr. Paterno says he will now devote himself to writing.

Knowledge is like a suitcase that I carry with me, it is a treasure. —Giuseppe Paterno

Carol Wright didn’t begin running until she was 70 and completed the Boston Marathon in 2021. She started with jogging for four minutes, walking for one, and gradually increasing from there.

“You are never too old to start. Every year I become more confident and comfortable, and running is the best feeling in the world,” Carol said.

--

--

Cindy Heath
Middle-Pause

I’ve been a farmer, entrepreneur, writer, and more. I'm passionate about nutrition, health, nature, and the rewards of personal writing.