THE DAILY WRITE

A Lost Girl In A Lost World

A Self Disclosure By A Person Of Interest

Jenny Starr✨
Midform
Published in
3 min readJun 8, 2022

--

Image of Jinny Created with Author’s Senior Picture and the Google Face App

This is a response to the MIDFORM Daily Write Challenge
June 7th: Write a short story about a boy or girl who has gotten lost.

My name is Jinny, and this is my story…

I wish I could say it was made up or that I know how I got here. Jenny has been watching over me for a long time, too long, If I’m being honest. When I was little, she would whisper to me and share her dreams of being like me, free to express who she was to whomever she pleased.

But one day, she stopped coming by. I didn’t blame her; I knew she had things to worry about on the outside. So I watched and waited. When I saw something I liked, I mentioned it to her — a splash of color here, a tear or two there. She could always feel my influence, but she forgot my name, forgot why she was different, why she didn’t fit in…

It wasn’t her fault, not entirely. She had no one to ask about me, no one to tell her about ones like me, hidden away, safe but invisible. Jenny grew up. I kept sending her ideas about what to wear; she thought they were her ideas. But her world was trying to tell her that it was wrong to think like me. I didn’t care much for sports or much of any of the things you might…

--

--

Jenny Starr✨
Midform

A transgender woman (she/they) learning her way in this beautiful life…queer, curious, thoughtful. I write poetry, LGBTQ and whatever else stirs my spirit...