Aimless

A TALE OF A FORMER ROVER

Lexy Mae
Midform
2 min readSep 14, 2023

--

a person sitting on a rock looking out at a body of water and mountain
Photo by ashok acharya on Unsplash

Oh how would it be to roam aimlessly

To not have anyone depend on me

To not have anyone say…

“Momma I need”

“Sista please”

“Can you work this shift for me”

Oh how would it be to roam aimlessly

To not feel suffocated by suggested pleas

Could I finally breath

Would my own oxygen fill me

When I’m so use to being filled by other’s needs

Oh how would it be to roam aimlessly

To not have so many roles pursuing me

Momma, sister, daughter, friend

Everyday I wake up it starts again

Grudgingly enthusiastic to serve others

Feeling no one entertains the thought of how I’ve been

What it must be like to roam aimlessly

From the dust I rose to the dust I’ll descend

Does it matter what falls in between?

Is this what life’s meant to be

Wanting to be set free from someone always needing me

Screaming inside for someone to, PLEASE REMEMBER ME!

Is this really my life…it couldn’t be

What it must be like to roam aimlessly

To soar like the majestic eagle thru the illuminating sky

To hibernate like the grizzly on a crisp winter night

How it must feel to roam aimlessly

Would I really be set free, or would I just be attempting to flee

From a life that has actually built me

I can’t roam aimlessly !

This may not have been my plan, but it’s my life indeed

This is the path God has laid out for me

This is where I’m needed and meant to be

So, now I choose to enjoy the tasks gifted to me

And next time I feel aimless I’ll kneel to my knees

a man and son smiling really big while looking at each other
Photo by Nathan Anderson on Unsplash

“Man’s steps are ordered by the Lord. How then can a man understand his way?” -Proverbs 20:24 (AMP)

“The wicked flee when nobody is pursuing them, but the righteous are as bold as a lion.” -Proverbs 28:1 (AMP)

I can complain or I can live gratefully. Today I chose the latter.

Key Message: Life can be overwhelming at times but, the great news is we don’t have to do it alone.

Jesus is waiting and he is enough for you and me.

--

--

Lexy Mae
Midform

Let’s do this together, one step at a time.