April Writing Prompts

Am I Deranged? Is Combining These April Writing Prompts Crazy?

What do sunburns and laughing in the face of adversity have to do with each other?

Charisse Tyson
Midform
Published in
4 min readApr 17, 2023

--

Photo from Canva

So many people tagged me about the April writing challenge on your worst sunburn that I knew I needed to respond with a story. As a fair-skinned redhead, I’ve got more sunburn tales than I can count. The one I’d planned to share got on the back burner when I did something stupid.

I’d been mulling over writing about my childhood tale of being locked outside with my brothers in our backyard in Sacramento, California. Three redheads and a blond were subjected to extended sun exposure by a cruel man, and we paid the price. For two days, I made excuses and didn’t write that story. I know I will, but yesterday’s stupid move sent me straight to my keyboard.

This is a laugh-through-rough things/sunburn combo story. It’s one that seniors will appreciate more than young folk.

--

--

Charisse Tyson
Midform

Author, blogger, and retired biker bar owner. Sharing God-wink stories to give others hope. Check out my memoir Born Again in a Biker Bar http://amzn.to/1HQqPze