Change Your Environment Now When You Are Comfortable

The Power of Change

Sathishiam
Midform
2 min readJul 3, 2024

--

if you’re reading this it’s time for change
Photo by hayleigh b on Unsplash

Have you heard that saying, “You’re the average of the five people you spend the most time with”? It really got me thinking: who exactly was I surrounding myself with?

I found myself surrounded by people with:

  • A loser mindset
  • Financial struggles
  • No goals, just wishes
  • Poor decision-making
  • A lifestyle I didn’t aspire to

It suddenly hit me why my life seemed to be going nowhere fast. I knew deep down I didn’t want to continue down this path.

So, I decided to change everything:

  • My mindset
  • My lifestyle
  • My decision-making
  • My financial situation
  • Every single aspect of my life

But at the same time, I was struggling with some terrible habits.

  • Skipping meals
  • Staying up until the early hours in the night.
  • Other destructive behaviors were holding me back.

Trying to make these changes while staying in the same old PG (paying guest accommodation). Where I’d been comfortable for the past 15 months just wasn’t working out.

The comfortable environment wasn’t helping me grow and the change I desperately needed.

Then, I came across James Clear’s “Atomic Habits.”

He talks about how staying positive in a negative environment is always challenging.

“I’ve never seen someone consistently stick to positive habits in a negative environment.”

It resonated deeply with me. Because I’d been struggling to maintain positive habits in a place that didn’t support me.

That’s when it clicked — I needed a new environment, new people, and a fresh start to truly build the life I wanted.

So, I took a risk and moved to a new:

  • PG
  • Environment
  • Network of people

I had no idea what to expect in this new place. The uncertainties were daunting, especially because I had become used to my old routines and roommates.

But I couldn’t let fear hold me back anymore. This is the reason I left my comfortable PG.

My habits and my future were on the line.

Ready to Make a Change? Act Now While You’re Comfortable!

In my next article, I will share how this move transformed my life.

Don’t miss out my free articles — click here!

If you haven’t followed yet, do follow for Sathishiam, and drop your thoughts in the comments.

Enjoy reading! Greatness awaits!

--

--

Sathishiam
Midform

Experimenting what I'm learning from others & sharing the results. Writing about productivity, self-development, books, side-hustling, digital marketing.