What We See Shapes Our Behavior

They change our perceptions and the choices we make.

Isabella
Midform

--

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

We have different perspectives based on what we see. These perspectives influence our behavior. We’ve all heard discussions about how what we see and where we live determines who we are in the present and future. This discussion started for me when I was considering buying a trash can.

I had an interesting conversation about living in an apartment building on a high floor. It didn’t have an elevator, and with that, I had a small trash can. Let’s call the person I was talking to, Mr. G.

From Mr. G’s perspective, it didn’t matter how big the apartment was or how many stairs he had to climb. They always bought a lot of groceries and a lot of stuff. We discussed how despite the apartment being on a high floor didn’t stop them from overbuying. It didn’t matter what their eyes saw (their living conditions), if they wanted a lot of groceries, they would get a lot of groceries.

While I can understand this general concept, I wondered if this is always the case for everyone.

I’m used to a big trash can and elevators. There was a time I moved to a region where there were only small trash cans and I had to walk up the stairs.

--

--

Isabella
Midform

Writer | Encourager | Motivator • Check out my eBook and journals: https://isabellavictoria.gumroad.com/