Have You Ever Sent an Email Without Attaching the Files?

I’m sure most of you have made that mistake

Prabani
Midform
2 min readJul 1, 2022

--

Photo by Ketut Subiyanto on Pexels

This has happened to me several times.

I write the email, request to check the files attached, check for the subject to be informative, and then send the email.

Only then do I realize that I forgot to attach the files.

Has this ever happened to you?

If it is an email to someone closer to you, that’s fine. However, we often send emails to people we don’t know well or to professionals.

You ask to check the files and send the email without attaching them simply because you forget to do it.

The reader may feel that you’re unprofessional or careless.

What can you do about it?

I follow a simple rule to avoid that, and now I’m not making the same mistake I did before.

Don’t include the recipient’s email address when you start writing the email.

Make it the last step of sending an email.

Before going for the last step, recheck your email.

Then you will not send another email in the future without attaching the files mentioned in the email.

Here’s the order I now follow when I write an email.

  1. Write the subject
  2. Write the body of the email
  3. Attach files(if any)
  4. Recheck and edit the email for any typos or errors
  5. Reread the email as I’m the recipient
  6. Make necessary changes(if any)
  7. Add the recipient’s email address
  8. Hit the send button

You’d realize if you forgot to attach the files in step 5.

So you can attach the files in step 6 and hit the send button confidently.

Hope this tip will be helpful for you!

Share your similar experiences if you have any. I’m curious to know :)

Key Message: Make sure to add the recipient’s email address just before you hit the send button. It will help you to avoid this mistake in the future.

--

--

Prabani
Midform

An avid reader, a passionate writer, and a freelancer.