I Am Who I Am

I am still finding my voice after all these years.

L. Jean Davis
Midform

--

sign that says get up and stand up
Photo by Thujey Ngetup on Unsplash

I am still finding my voice after all these years. I am growing every day. If you stop growing, then you die. There have been many life changes, including many career changes, some out of my control. But I chose to be a freelance writer at the age of 60. I am learning every day. I will continue to grow and write about life, travel, and history, which are gone by until I cannot focus anymore.

Some people quit doing what they love because of what others say. They let other people mold them. I used to be one of those people. You get your ego hurt, and you quit, or your feelings hurt.

Do not let what others think about you define you. Be your person. Be unique. There will always be that person who doesn’t like your cooking. Do not take it personally. I don’t want to cook, so let them cook.

There will always be that person who criticizes the way you dress. Do you like the way you dress? If you do, then that is all that matters. Do you want your hairstyle? Then go with it.

Be your voice. If you are writing, come up with your style. Are you being personal and honest? Are you helping people? Then, do not worry about the criticism. Just spell check and no plagiarism. Write with your heart. Be funny. Be serious but be you!!

--

--

L. Jean Davis
Midform

Life can be messy, and I write about it. I started at 60 years old. Travel, history, and life are my genres. https://5grandkids1great.substack.com