I Used to Kidnap Dolls as a Kid

My lovely childhood memories

Wordsmith Diaries
Midform
3 min readMay 28, 2024

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

As a child, I had always been the kid who had many toys and didn’t know which one to play with. But amongst all my toys, my all time favorites were my barbie dolls.

Now, hold your breath for the big reveal.

So… believe me or not I had a total of 7 frickin’ dolls!

Two of which, I had kidnapped, or stolen from my sister.

Don’t judge me, my sister got a dollhouse on her birthday and there was a really cute barbie doll in it with its dress collection.

I hope you understand now, what I had to go through as (kid) doll-lover so I just stole it hehe:)

Photo by Tengyart on Unsplash

The other one I stole was a gift from my father to both of us. He bought us three dolls. All of which looked the same, the difference was just in their colors.

One was blue, one was yellow and the last one was pink. And, being the younger one I got my hands on 2 out of 3 dolls. It was a win-win!

But, the problem didn’t end here. My sister got the pink doll. Although, I had chosen the blue and yellow ones myself but now I wanted the pink one.

How stupid I was!

Photo by Sandra Gabriel on Unsplash

Then, one day my sister did some makeup on her pink doll by using black marker as an eyeliner and pink marker as an eyeshade.

And, I had to copy it! So, silly me got some markers and…

RUINED MY DOLLS!

I tried to do the makeup like my sister but it didn’t go as planned.

Now, I didn’t like my dolls anymore with the ugly blue marker on their face so I decided to steal my sister’s.

And the mission was successful!

Photo by Intricate Explorer on Unsplash

Then, begins the real story. I named all my dolls. The names were:

Jasmine(the yellow one), Shizuka(the blue one) inspired by doraemon, Strawberry (the pink, stolen doll) inspired by the cartoons strawberry shortcake, Cindrelli(the other stolen doll) and I told everyone that she was cindrell-i not cinderell-a because the mice in the movie called her cindrelli and I loved that for no reason.

Baldy (one of the 7 dolls I had) because she didn’t have any hair left because of my stupid hairstyles lol, and the last one I named Lemondewy because she was a stitched cloth doll with yellow threads as her hair and I loved it so much!

Photo by Yousef Bagheri on Unsplash

Then time passed by and I grew up. I gave away all of my toys to younger kids in the neighborhood. I wish I could go back in time and enjoy my childhood once again.

Those were golden days, and I can never forget them :)

PS: Which toy or game did you love as a kid?

Key Message: I was very fond of dolls as a kid. Children tend to find friends in toys. They take care of their toys and act like parents to them. Someday, observe how your child treats his toys.

--

--

Wordsmith Diaries
Midform

I am a student, an avid reader, and an aspiring wordsmith with a passion for storytelling