It’s 4PM

Poornima Choudhary
Midform
Published in
4 min readJun 7, 2023
photo of a clock showing time — 4 o clock.
Banner Image created on Canva

I can’t concentrate on anything now.

Just a few minutes more and this last class of the day will be over like every other day. I love the fact of finishing school at this time so much and thinking about what awesome thing awaits at home for me … but this time between school and home is what I would love to delete.

Why do I have to face this everyday?

It’s just 10 minutes but these 10 minutes seem to be so so long …

I have tried everything to make this time shorter but nothing seems to help .. and yesterday was really bad when I thought if I run a bit .. then slowdown .. run a bit again .. then slowdown .. maybe that way I won’t be tired and I will shorten these 10 minutes but I was more tired than usual.

What shall I do?

Even the thought of these 10 minutes makes me so worried and sad ..every day.

Should I just walk slow…. or just walk at normal speed without stopping.. ?

Should I take this lane today? This may be a faster way to reach home. But it seems so scary…it’s so silent. Does anyone live in these houses ? Oh My God! I think it was a bad idea to take this lane. I have never been more scared. I hear some footsteps. Who is this man? He looks scary. He is walking slow. Is he following me? If I shout here, will anyone hear? Mom always tells me to not go to new strange places alone. I should have paid attention to her for this thing. I will never ever do this again but God! please help me this time… one last time. Please!

He is taking a left… he is knocking on the door of that house. And he entered that house. Does he live here? Whatever ….Thank You God ! I love you.

Oh My God! It’s 4.10 already and I am still on the road. The idea to try this new lane was very bad.

I must speed up now.

Everyone must be enjoying themselves at home. They are so lucky to be free early and be home before 4.

I reached.

Knock Knock …. Knock Knock!

Why are they taking so long to open the door?

Finally.

I should rush in. Everyone is here. I will sit next to my sister.

“What happened?” I asked her.

“Nothing much. Just one song. And…”

“Wait… let me listen to this dialogue. Is he her father ?”

“Yes.”

And it’s break time …

“Now tell me, what happened in the first 10 minutes ?”

I love my sister at this time. Her school finishes at 2 pm so she is well settled by the time it’s 4 pm. And she knows about my love for movies. Actually everyone in the family knows about that. That’s why now mom does not insist on getting freshened up immediately on reaching home… I can wait till the first break comes.

I am now good. I can follow the full movie … it’s going to be great fun! Yay!

I think I must first write to the cable uncle to change the time of the movie and make it at least 15 minutes later. I will tell him how much I go through every day because he starts the movie exactly when my school gets over. I always miss the first 10 minutes of every movie.

I will write to him tomorrow only. I will request on behalf of every movie lover who is not able to be home by 4 pm. I will ask papa to hand this application over to him on his way to the office.

I think cable uncle will listen to me.

What do you think ? Will he?

The story is set up in the times when there was no OTT and no online TV. There used to be limited channels and the content was not in abundance. People used to check time of programs/movies and be in front of TV at that time because if they miss, then they just miss. The TV channels used to be facilitated via a cable operator who used to provide some bonus content like movies to their customers. Good old times. We respected every single piece of content much more than what we do today.

Key Message: When you have less number of options/ choices, you respect what is available and enjoy it fully.

Thanks for reading my story! If you like this story then a few claps would be really encouraging.

And if you want to read more such stories, please follow me here .

--

--

Poornima Choudhary
Midform

Entrepreneur | Marketer since 2007 | Content Strategist | Help building D2C startup brands | Write about Travel,Food,Life,Marketing & Skincare