THE DAILY WRITE

It’s a Mad Mad Mad Mad World

What was the first movie you can remember seeing in a Movie Theater?

Denise Kendig
Midform
Published in
3 min readJun 25, 2022

--

Chaotic characters, fighting in pairs underneath palm trees that form a “W”.
Photo Credit: “ It’s a Mad Mad Mad Mad World” publicity portrait, from Disney 1963

My brother Ray was three years older than me. He always helped me remember that “The Shaggy Dog” was the first movie I’d ever seen in the theater.

So, any time I’d see a television commercial for reruns of that movie, I would perk up and pay attention. I loved seeing the image of an Old English Sheepdog driving down the highway in an open-top convertible, his frantic (human) father freaking out in the passenger seat next to him.

I wanted to see that movie. My brother Ray would shake his head in disgust. “But ‘Nisey,” he’d say, “you’ve already seen that movie. You saw it in the theater. It was the first movie you ever saw in the theater.”

Well, of course, I had no memory of seeing that movie in the theater. How old would I have been? Two years old? Yep. No memory.

So, the next movie I saw in a theater was “It’s a Mad Mad Mad Mad World.” It’s the first movie I can remember seeing in a movie theater. It came out in 1963, which means I would have been 6 years old.

I remember going to the movie theater with my mom, my dad, and my brother Ray. I remember the feeling as the overhead lights dimmed before the…

--

--

Denise Kendig
Midform

Hello. I am an old soul with a young heart. Looking forward to sharing the journey with lots of new friends along the way.