The Daily Write

Love is a Superpower

Sprinkle generously.

Ashley Powell
Midform

--

Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

June 3rd: You are a superhero for the day — what’s your power? What do you do?

As a kid, I wasn’t into superheroes and I didn’t have a favorite. I don’t think young girls were the target audience for the comic book industry in the 90s, and the closest thing I saw on TV was Power Rangers. That wasn’t my thing either. Even though people called me a “tomboy,” I loved Barbie and boy bands.

Actually, Jesus was my superhero. He walked on water, healed wounds and life-long ailments, and raised people from the dead. Whenever I prayed to him I felt an otherworldly comfort. I think his superpower was love. I don’t talk to Jesus much these days, but praying always helped me feel better.

If I was a superhero for a day, love would be my power. Cheesy? Maybe. But, it’s something everyone wants and needs.

My power source is the earth itself, the oldest being we connect with every day. All the love, care, provision, and nurturing energy from the earth flows through me and out as a shower of light from my fingertips. I can fly too, of course.

Like Tinkerbell, I’ll flit across the sky sprinkling love dust on the world. Not just any love. A DNA-specific love. In my superhero universe, the earth has its own book of life. A record of every DNA code for each living thing on the planet. Within each code is that individual’s unique “love language.” All of that information is available in this power, which I can hold and impart to others.

Anyone touched by the light particles is filled with immense comfort and compassion. They feel love for themselves. Trauma is healed, but not erased. There is a genuine sense of care and empathy for all people. As they act out love to others, a ripple effect spans the entire globe.

Peace on earth? Good will to men? Dammit. Maybe I do just want to be like Jesus. He did say love was the most important thing. I guess I agree with him on that much.

Key Message: People desire to be loved in their own way, and we must step outside of what we think they deserve or what we think is best to show love. Anyone can use this superpower, all it takes is a little pinch of intention.

--

--