The Daily Write

Mr. Ewert Always Said Hello

Kids remember adults who care.

Ashley Powell
Midform

--

Photo by Alex Padurariu on Unsplash

June 2nd: Who was your favorite teacher or mentor growing up, and why?

Mr. Ewert was one of those teachers who regularly changed departments over the years. I’m sure he taught every core subject between our middle school and junior high. He was one of those teachers all the students talked about. He wasn’t just my favorite teacher, most of the students loved him.

After hearing all the hype about Mr. Ewert, I made sure to sign up for his elective class during my second year at Sterling Middle School. It was an origami class, something I knew nothing about. I was one of those crafty kids who was always working on some kind of sewing or scrapbooking project, so I couldn’t wait to add a new skill to my collection.

Every day was the same in origami class and that was part of the charm. There was something peaceful about knowing what to expect and following the same discipline of listening to his direction and simply folding paper.

After discussing what we would be making that day, he handed out one piece of paper to each student and gave step-by-step instructions for every fold. The soft fluttering of origami paper filled the room as we focused all our attention on getting the straight edges lined up just right. He walked around the room past each desk to offer any help as we worked through the steps. His kind eyes and giant smile are what I remember the most. He exuded patience and genuine care for all of his kids, even the snarky ones.

Mr. Ewert was a tall, soft-spoken man with a good sense of humor. He wore a flannel shirt, jeans, and tennis shoes most days. The laid-back attire and teaching style was no doubt influenced by his California roots.

He was one of those teachers who always smiled and acknowledged you in the hallway, knowing and remembering the names of students who weren’t even in his class. Kids stayed late or came early to chat and hang out with him during breaks. Laughter often burst into the hallway as you walked by his room. It was a fun place to be.

When I joined the girls’ middle school basketball team, I was surprised to see Mr. Ewert on the court as one of our coaches! During free-throw practice, whoever made both their shots got to take home a shining gold dollar courtesy of Coach Ewert. Obviously, he was a favorite on the basketball court too.

The final class I had with him was math in junior high. He chose to move up with our class from the middle school to the brand new junior high school. We did plenty of math, but we also had origami breaks on the lighter work days. I was happy to get one last class with him, and I even saw him at the high school when he was coaching tennis. No matter where I saw Mr. Ewert, he always greeted me with a smile and a: “Hi, Ashley!”

I’ve had a few favorite teachers I can recall from my school days, but Mr. Ewert stands out among them. He was someone who showed that he cared about your life outside of school. Adolescence was rough for me, but remembering Mr. Ewert helps me think about the good memories I have and choose to hold on to.

Thank you, Ewert!

Key Message: Teachers who make an effort to show compassion and genuine care leave a lasting impression on their students. It’s a gift to look back and remember those adults who showed up for you as a kid even in the smallest ways.

--

--