My “Boring” Life: How I Found Happiness through Minimalism and Frugal Living

Less is more…

Noah Q
Midform
3 min readNov 14, 2023

--

Photo by KAL VISUALS on Unsplash

Growing up, my mother instilled in me her worldviews. She taught me to: appreciate the little things, to aggressively save and to never overindulge or fall victim to mass consumerism. “You don’t need a lot of things to be happy”, she would often say. It was through her teachings that I adhere to a frugal minimalist lifestyle.

So, what exactly is frugal minimalism? Well, it encompasses two key ideas: frugality and minimalism. Frugality is the practice of being economical with money. Minimalism is about owning less possessions, and instead focusing most of our time, energy and money on the things we value most.

Simplicity over complexity

I enjoy the simple things in life such as: going for a hike, reading a good book, or watching the sunset.

In a world filled with constant chaos and negativity that calls for our attention, I’ve decided to block off most of these distractions, and focus my time and energy on the things that uplift me and bring me joy.

I rarely use social media for the same reason. I don’t care about the latest celebrity gossip, advertisements, “influencers” and so forth. To me, that’s all clutter that serve no purpose in my life.

I am also a massive introvert and a proud homebody. I don’t enjoy going to clubs, drinking or doing anything that will drain my fragile social battery. Instead, I choose to spend my free time pursuing my hobbies and interests because those are essentially what leaves me feeling happy and fulfilled.

Decluttering my life

Photo by Raya Mal on Unsplash

Not only have I decluttered my mind from distractions and negativity, I’ve also decluttered my physical space, which is quite empty. According to Marie Kondo, we should only keep the things that bring us joy. Anything else is useless clutter that takes up valuable space.

By decluttering my physical space, I lose this sense of unnecessary attachment to certain objects or things because I’m no longer tied to the past. Decluttering gives me a sense of freedom: freedom from greed, debt and junk, ultimately resulting in feelings of peace and comfort. By owning less stuff, I’ve come to appreciate the things that I do have, which often holds sentimental value.

Lastly, decluttering has allowed me to save more money, tidy up faster, and to focus more of my time on my hobbies or experiences, rather than material things.

Saving over spending

Some people have a habit of overindulging and overspending. While there’s certainly nothing wrong with being a consumerist, I’ve gravitated towards a frugal lifestyle where I’m constantly looking for deals, aggressively saving, questioning every purchase and buying only what I need.

Living frugally has led to financial freedom and a sense of security, ultimately resulting in less stress. The peace of mind I get knowing that I have enough money saved up for emergencies has done more for my mental well being than any shopping spree could ever. Material possessions don’t mean anything to me if I cannot provide for myself or family, and I can sleep comfortably knowing that I can.

Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

Setting boundaries and saying “no”

It’s very common for people to overfill their schedule with work, social media, activities, and meetups, which can get very overwhelming and stressful. Instead, I’ve chosen to minimize my schedule and to prioritize the most important parts of my life.

By simply saying “no”, I’m able to focus more on myself, while also saving time and money. If something won’t benefit or fulfill me, I choose to not participate, and I’m totally content with that.

Key Message: Live the life that will leave you feeling fulfilled and enriched. For me, a frugal minimalist life free from chaos is what makes me happy. As long as you’re content with what you have/do, then that’s all that matters.

--

--

Noah Q
Midform

Canadian focusing on minimalism, frugal living and solo travel. A college prof once told me my writing is “really good”, so here I am