MIDFORM AUGUST CHALLENGE: POETRY #3

My Parents’ Child

The narration of a child’s trauma which stems from the violent acts of his/her parents.

Iko Odoba
Midform

--

Photo by Wadi Lissa on Unsplash

The poems I wrote as a child
reminds me of the love my heart yearned for.

I spoke to myself through the poems
but my voice was inaudible.

I had to strain from ear to ear
but my soul clearly knew what I want.

I took the pen filled with ink
and wrote across the slate of my heart.

My heart craved for peace.
Anyone could decipher the scribbles.

The inner me cry out.
It is subdued by the voices of my parents.

Their moments of eerie silence
is even more subduing as it
presses my head below the waters.

They only notice me
when I’m already sunk low
and floated out of consciousness.

They rush to take my hands
beneath the water, with such alarming
concern that would barely stand the test of time.

As soon as they breathe life into me,
they go back to taking it away
just like the narcissistic creators that they were.

It was a cycle and I wheel through it.
My head hurts and my eyes dizzy
but the rest I want won’t come.

So I kept writing these poems
with little hopes that it would
never blot out from my heart.

Key message: The mental health of children also matters!

--

--

Iko Odoba
Midform
Writer for

...and Art was made flesh, and dwelt among us.