THE DAILY WRITE

Red Is Powerful, Red Is Me

Red represents the person I want to be

Sarah Smith
Midform
Published in
2 min readJun 7, 2022

--

By ha11ok From Pixabay

The only colour I’ve ever liked is red, ever since I was in kindergarten and first learned about the different colours. Red was the only one that caught my eye.

It was just so beautiful, so perfect, so complete in every way possible. It just screamed, SARAH, in a way that 4-year-old me didn’t quite comprehend yet.

Truthfully, even 21-year-old Sarah doesn’t really understand why I like red, but I like to think that it’s because, in my mind I associate the colour red with power.

Powerful is what I want to be. I want to have power over my life, my career, my future.

Power to me doesn’t mean that I have control over people; power means that I have the ability to influence my life and other lives, the power to change lives, the power to ameliorate lives. Power to me means that I have influence. That’s what I want.

The fact that my favourite colour is red might be just a random fact about me, and maybe I’m reading to much into this. But I like to think 4-year-old me already knew the kind of person she wanted to grow up to be. She wanted to be powerful, she wanted to be a force of nature, and one day, she will be.

Key Message: My favourite colour is red because red is a powerful colour!

Not a medium member yet? Sign up here https://medium.com/@s.a.smith2605/membership. Signing up with this link will give you full access to all the articles on Medium.A portion of your membership fee will be sent to me to help me continue writing! Thank you!

Don’t want to become a medium member? Buy me a pizza instead! Thank you so much for your support!

--

--