BOOK REVIEW

Swamp Story: A Novel

Dave Barry: What’s Not to Like?!

JoAnne Wallis
Midform
Published in
1 min readJun 26, 2023

--

Photo by Carlo Lisa on Unsplash

After reading Dave Barry’s syndicated column for many years, I hoped that his novel would provide the same fun dialogue and descriptions that I enjoyed in my local newspaper. His novel does not disappoint.

Through a series of short chapters, Mr. Barry introduces us to several characters. His succinct descriptions of the people and circumstances transport us to Florida. I feel like I’ve known these people for years. There are snakes, alligators, buried gold, a swamp monster, and all sorts of unusual, often funny, events. As the story develops, you just know that all these characters and situations are going to collide at some point. The anticipation builds and the resulting pandemonium doesn’t disappoint.

Swamp Story: A Novel is a delightfully funny romp through the swamp with lots of mystery and suspense.

Key Message: It's Florida!

Reference: Barry, Dave. Swamp Story: A Novel. Simon & Schuster. 2023.

©JoAnne Wallis

JoAnne Wallis is a retired software engineer and former school teacher living in southern California.

--

--

JoAnne Wallis
Midform

Native Californian. Retired systems/software engineer. I enjoy concerts, plays, lectures, TV shows, jigsaw puzzles and reading. Words fascinate me.