THE DAILY WRITE

The Art of Doing Nothing

Relaxing isn’t something I do, but something I don’t do.

Allie Funk
Midform
Published in
2 min readJun 23, 2022

--

A cartoon of a person meditating inside of a brain.
Credit: Delesign Graphics on IconScout, CC BY 4.0

I don’t find a lot of the same activities relaxing as most people. It takes more energy for me to do things that others can do without thinking, and the whole point of relaxing is to recover energy.

I like playing video games, but it’s basically a full-body workout for me. Knitting requires a lot of fine motor control, and my hands cramp up pretty quickly. Writing tires my shoulders out, and I’ve never been able to get comfortable using speech to text software.

I enjoy doing all of these things; however, they still work in some ways because of the amount of energy they require from me.

So how do I relax? How do I relieve stress?

I do absolutely nothing.

One of my favorite places to be is laying in my recliner, flat on my back, with a show I’ve seen a hundred times playing on my laptop. I don’t have to do anything, not even concentrate on my show.

Sometimes I nap, sometimes I don’t, but I love the relaxation of having absolutely nothing to do. Others may find this boring, but when even eating takes up a lot of energy, doing nothing becomes very, very appealing.

Key Message: My favorite way to relax is to do nothing because it requires no energy.

--

--

Allie Funk
Midform
Writer for

Playwright, Blogger, Professional Disabled Person