The Scenic Route

Life brings you on it’s twists and twirls sometimes

Mich Chow
Midform

--

Photo by Field Cottage on Unsplash

We like to think of detours as a hassle and a waste of time. What if we start seeing them as blessings in disguise instead?

One afternoon I was on the bus when I had a sudden epiphany about what I wanted to do with my life.

It felt like I was at the cusp of a crucial transformation. I couldn’t wait to get my hands on a keyboard and start typing away. This had to do with my ultimate future. It’s ultra important stuff!

I sat perched at the edge of my seat like a child on Christmas morning, eagerly waiting for the bus to reach my stop.

To my dismay, I had boarded the wrong bus and was going in the opposite direction of where I was initially headed. The view outside the bus was nothing I’m familiar with. We were in some industrial area with steel factories and wholesale food suppliers.

Yup, like this but with a much narrower road 😶‍🌫️ Photo by Alexander Kovacs on Unsplash

I eventually had to admit defeat and alighted at the next stop. I figured my best course of action was to board the bus in the opposite direction, which would bring me some place where I can course-correct.

--

--

Mich Chow
Midform
Writer for

An ex-coffee binger and a recovering procrastinator. This is where I process my curiosity.