FICTION and REALITY

What About the Gulf Stream?

A conversation about the Gulf Stream and our future

Øivind H. Solheim - the Novel Author
Midform
Published in
3 min readFeb 9, 2024

--

Photo by Chris Gallagher on Unsplash

Penelope and I sat in my study. We had started talking about the grave topic of climate change and its irreversible consequences. “I’m worried,” she said. “What if it is true? What do they say about phenomena such as tipping points and the disruption of the Gulf Stream—how would these phenomena affect life in Europe?”

“These tipping points in our climate system alarm me increasingly as I learn about them, Penelope,” I said. “Look at the Gulf Stream, for instance. Its alteration could drastically change the climate in Europe.”

Penelope, who had been following the research more closely than I had, nodded in agreement. “Yes, William, the Gulf Stream is crucial. This current belongs to a bigger network of ocean currents called the Atlantic Meridional Overturning Circulation, which affects Europe’s climate greatly. If it slows down, it could cause harsher winters and more severe weather changes, harming ecosystems and crops.”

I leaned back, my eyes closed for a second. “It’s daunting to consider. Europe has enjoyed a stable climate. But these changes could bring about conditions we’re not prepared for. More than just environmental impacts, they could have profound social and…

--

--

Øivind H. Solheim - the Novel Author
Midform

New novel: The Man Who Stopped Aging, Amazon Kindle. Love story & intellectual investigation: Can we extend human life to 100 or 110? www.oivindhsolheim.com/