THE DAILY WRITE

Why I’m Grateful for Music

“Music is life itself.” — Louis Armstrong

Jay Renée
Midform
Published in
2 min readJun 1, 2022

--

Woman playing drums during music band rehearsal
Photo created by Nejron Photo

June 1: What’s one thing you’re grateful for today?

I love music the way Snoop Dogg loves smoking weed. It gives me a natural high. And it’s rare for me to spend an entire day without listening to an eclectic playlist of songs on one of the many music apps on my phone.

What’s amazing about this art form is its power to heal and bring people together. And what I find even more fascinating is the connection between music and the mind. For instance, evidence suggests that listening to music plays an essential role in mental health, helping individuals overcome anxiety, depression, trauma, and other mental health conditions.

I can always count on music to bring me out of my funk. And I was definitely in a funky mood today. Things weren’t going my way, and I was tired from pulling an all-nighter to meet a deadline.

But once I hit play, I was immediately lifted and transported to my happy place. Song after song, I began to feel lighter, calmer, and, of course, happier. I even belted out a few tunes with no regard for the neighbors.

Music not only gets me through the bad days. It teaches me about life, keeps me focused and…

--

--

Jay Renée
Midform

I use my writing to inspire, educate, and empower others.