You Don’t Want What You Daydream About

You just want to feel loved and respected

Marcela Cardoso
Midform
3 min readMar 15, 2024

--

Photo by Guillaume Bolduc on Unsplash

Sometimes, you don’t want what you daydream about.

Lately, I’ve been listening to music I enjoy.

My schedule has been dominated by work, leaving little time for anything else.

Suddenly, I found myself recalling an old daydream.

I found myself as an aspiring rock star, competing in a singing competition. (hello, American Idol!).

My boyfriend was the hottest contestant.

People loved me and screamed my name.

After the competition, my career took new heights.

I had number one songs, a Grammy, and an Oscar. I even toured, sharing my music with the whole world.

But guess what?

I don’t want any of these things.

  • I’m happily single.
  • My music talent is -1.
  • I don’t want to be famous.

Once, I woke up in the middle of the night with an uneasy feeling creeping over me.

I asked myself: “How come it feels effortless to picture myself succeeding in my imaginary dream but not in my actual pursuits?”

The answer was clear to me.

My daydream brings the sensation I’m loved and respected.

Photo by Will O on Unsplash

I’ve rarely experienced love for being who I am, so I learned I needed to be my source of love and happiness.

Because of the story we tell ourselves about our past and current life, we believe we can’t be loved and respected by being authentic.

As a consequence, we don’t believe in our dreams and keep sabotaging ourselves.

Nevertheless, there is something we need to keep in mind: we just crave validation from other people because we don’t validate ourselves.

We want people to love and respect us , but you don’t love and respect ourselves.

I was on a self-love journey for months, but stepped out of it due to some stuff that happened to me. Nothing is lost, though. Now I know I need to come back to myself.

At times, we imagine alternate realities to escape from our own.

The problem happens when we don’t take the necessary steps to fix what is going wrong in our lives.

Keeping our booties on the couch and complaining feels more comfortable.

Photo by Meg on Unsplash

We don’t believe we can achieve our wildest dreams.

Instead, we give excuses to not go after what we want.

  • We never have enough money or time.
  • We don’t feel good enough.
  • We think everyone is capable of achieving things but ourselves.

So, what can we do to get out of this cycle?

Fill our own cup and go manifest our dreams.

Take small steps and be our biggest cheerleaders.

Sometimes, people won’t be by our side.

Sometimes, people we trust will give us their back.

But there is one person who will always be with us: ourselves.

Don’t try to find happiness in external things.

True happiness can only be accessed by delving deep within oneself.

Key Message: Don’t wait for love and validation from others. Give it to yourself.

--

--

Marcela Cardoso
Midform

✨I write personal stories and articles that bring positivity and growth to your life.✨