POETRY

Black Onyx Eyes

Free verse reflections on the dark mines of the soul

--

Black tear shaped crystals falling in a cave filled with water.
Image: AI-generated using Adobe Firefly; Poetry: written by Tristan Robert Lange, Human-authored.

Tears fall like Franklinite
From my black onyx eyes;
Little specks of hopelessness
Falling en masse to the abyss.

The mines run deep,
Their shafts are filled
With murky, deadly waters
Rising with the rain.

The tonnage of my eyes
Is crushing my soul
Like a gem smashed beneath
A pickaxe and an anvil.

My vision is dimmed, dazed
By the gloom of my eyes.
I am trapped in the tunnels
Of this melancholic mine.

© 2024 Tristan Robert Lange. All rights reserved.

--

--

Tristan Robert Lange
Mid-Knight Falls

Tristan Robert Lange: Poet exploring existentialism, emotion, society and gothic horror. Inspired by Poe and Morrison, blending dark imagery with deep insights.