POETRY

I Can See the Kingdom

A Mantra of Moxie

Tristan Robert Lange
Mid-Knight Falls

--

A silhouetted figure stands on a hilltop overlooking a sprawling cityscape at night. The sky is dramatically split between a fiery orange sunset and a stormy purple cloudscape, with lightning bolts striking on both sides. The city below glows with countless lights, creating a mesmerizing contrast against the turbulent sky above. The scene captures a moment of awe-inspiring natural spectacle juxtaposed with human civilization.
Image: AI-generated using Adobe Firefly; Poetry: written by Tristan Robert Lange, Human-authored.

So you think you know me?
The wildfire ablaze
Needs immediate action.
But I can see the Kingdom.
You strip me down naked
You lacerate my truth.
But I can see the Kingdom.
You pull out the lasher
You intend to intimidate.
But I can see the Kingdom.
Human death sticks stare
At me with judgment.
But I can see the Kingdom.
They think they can see
Eternal truths on paper.
But I can see the Kingdom.
They sentence me to hell,
To the lurid shores of refuse
Housing its scornful base,
But I can see the Kingdom.
Help me! Save me
With your transient care.
Because I can see the Kingdom.
Show me your best,
Wall me in stone torment,
But I can see the Kingdom.
Stain my name
And play the game
You’re never going to tame,
Because I can see the Kingdom.

© 2024 Tristan Robert Lange. All rights reserved.

--

--

Tristan Robert Lange
Mid-Knight Falls

Tristan Robert Lange: Poet exploring existentialism, emotion, society and gothic horror. Inspired by Poe and Morrison, blending dark imagery with deep insights.