The West Kernow Way…in 24hrs

Edward Hunton
Midlifecycles
Published in
3 min readOct 31, 2021

Well if ever a challenge was created on the back of an envelope this is it. Is it possible to ride 230k of off-road track and trail within the first 24hrs of the new UK cycling route being launched? That's averaging 9.5k an hour. I’m pretty sure this can be done, and will be done, but will it be completed by me on the 3rd of September 2022…the odds are pretty much stacked against it. Let's have a look at why I am unlikely to succeed in this attempt.

  • 230k is a long way to ride on road…never mind off-road
  • I’m only going to get the route at the point that I start, midnight on Thursday the 2nd, so I have no idea where it goes until then
  • I’m not in the best shape
  • I’m on the wrong side of 45
  • I’ll be starting the ride in the dark

Ok, let's backtrack a little…why am I even considering doing this? There are a few motivating factors here. After eight months of emails, pitches and meetings a major publisher has given me the commission to write a bikepacking guidebook. Obviously, I have done a fair bit of bikepacking but I am definitely looking for a challenge to kick off writing the guidebook; a way of re-booting my passion for this style of riding. I have been excited by the prospect of the charity UK Cycling launching the West Kernow Way route since it was first announced back in April. Despite residing in Hackney in London most of the time I consider myself a West Country Bay having been brought up in neighboring Devon. It goes without saying that the friendly rivalry between Cornwall and Devon normally associated with cream teas extends to trail riding. For the Cornish, I certainly have the status of an emmet!

Type II mediation

I’ve been riding since my 20’s and have often wondered what it is that keeps drawing me back to this type of ‘Type II’ fun. There are parts of a ride like this that are enjoyable as they are happening; the landscape inspires awe and endorphins are released. Other aspects are more efemeral/etheral. Not knowing what is next, Questions like: where is the trail going to take me? What obstacles are coming up? Have I got the right kit? Do I have enough food. Is my body going to hold out? So a bunch of unknowns that you hope to have planned for. It seems that part of the joy comes from the satisfaction of having planned effectively for a situation where you are flying blind. Its guaranteed that issues will present themselves…will they bring the enterprise into jeapodey or be risen above? At this point it’s unknown…and that's half the buzz. The frisson between what you can control and what you can’t. For me these journeys become a form of mediation; you are fully engaged but within the landscape as the kilometres roll by.

New constraints

As discussed above I’m throwing down the gauntlet to myself…what can I change-up from my previous rides to improve things…how can I refine my processes? Can I improve myself, can I bring anything a bit different to this ride, inspire anyone else to see things slightly differently? For that matter what can I see things differently?? So I’m trying to make this ride as eco-friendly as I can by taking on a few constraints:

  • No car. I’m heading to Cornwall by train — not massively unusual as anyone who has tried making a bike reservation will confirm.
  • No gels. I always try my best to avoid dropping gel wrappers and the little bits you tear off to get at the goodness (badness) so I’m making all my own snacks.
  • No packaged food. I’ve never been a fan of dehydrated meals for a few reasons…but mainly their taste! Also, because the plastic sachets can’t be recycled. So I’m going to dehydrate my own food…it’s easy and a massive improvement of eating sofa stuffing.
  • No bottled water. This is a bit easier. It's standard to only get refills from taps but I’m also bringing along a water filter just in case.

--

--