Numb

Christian Dean
MidMillennial
Published in
2 min readFeb 1, 2019

For all my Newark natives, in addition to Black House alums, plus political science scholars, as well as Cardinal 2012 graduation attendees, the inevitable is here. Cory Booker has announced. It will take time to accrue my thoughts, but my immediate, non-reaction is to be numb. This is all according to plan.

I am excited to see the Democratic quest for nomination unfold, as I don’t know too many figures more skilled than Senator Booker in the American democratic process. I am numb to visionary rhetoric from the Senator — I have spent too much of my life soaking in The Speech to be wowed. As an idealist myself, Barack’s soaring rhetoric made me sit in a cramped van to Nevada for 10 hours and knock on gun-owning voters’ doors at 6am for a week. For some time now, Senator Booker’s lessons about being born on third base and saving the Shire from orcs/conservatives now makes me want to check my 401K portfolio balance. Nothing makes me hungry for an afternoon pouring over mundane logistics than another morning hearing about the Conspiracy of Love.

Yet if charisma is a sin, however sacharrine that charisma may be, we would never aspire. And while I have faith in my judgment of authenticity, maybe if I grew up hearing about Change in southside Chicago, and then in Illinois state elections, and then at a Harvard or Occidental commencement, I would feel similarly jaded over our 44th President. It is hard to point out a time where Senator Booker didn’t do what he could in the interest of his political ideals, given his platform. Even if his very public successful shots often caused a gut kickback for his less visible constituents. Even when they left an aspertame taste in avid supporters feeling like they were only useful to springboard Booker to the next platform. If we villainize ambition, who will represent us in the highest political ranks?

We’ll see how it goes.

Numb.

--

--