Open Letter to my Recent Crush(Fictional)

Md.Miftahul Alam
Miftee’s Diary
Published in
2 min readMar 26, 2022

Hey there,

I first met you on March 23, 2022, at around 3 PM. During our 19-minute and 49-second conversation, you were wearing a cute blue shirt and a white t-shirt underneath it. Unfortunately, I couldn’t see your face as you were wearing a mask, but I could tell that you were short, about 5.1 feet (1.55 m). You were reading a fictional book and were on page 100-something. I was impressed by your philosophical mindset and love for books. It was evident that you are an emotional and deep thinker, with a soft and romantic heart. Despite your reserved nature, you observe things keenly and have a unique perspective on life. However, you seem to be vulnerable to tears and easily moved by emotions.

I was not attracted to your physical appearance, but your way of thinking and conversing. You deserve to be with someone who will cherish and love you unconditionally. You deserve a romantic partner who will make moonlit nights and sunrises even more beautiful. Not only that, but you deserve someone who will write poetry about your soul and make you feel special.

You deserve a man whose heart is filled with fragrances, flowers, and goodness. Someone who will caress your hair, and make your heart skip a beat. Someone who will be there for you during your toughest moments and not be afraid to be vulnerable. You deserve someone whose heart and soul are only for you, and you can feel it every moment of your life.

While writing this, I couldn’t help but cry because my heart is like a haunted house, incapable of love, and undeserving of your love.

When I was young, I used to visit a mosque in my village during vacations. There was a beautiful lake nearby, and I would always see pink lilies floating on it. I wish I could have collected all of them from the age of three and preserved them in a jar. Then, I could have given it to you as a token of my love, even though I know I don’t deserve your love.

Thank you for those 19 minutes and 49 seconds, and I am grateful to Allah for bringing us together.

--

--