The art of letting go

Adam J. Blust
Mighty Forces
Published in
3 min readAug 31, 2023

--

Sometimes you just have to let go.

Now that I’m in my 50s, that can be hard.

When we’re young, we have a certain image of how our lives are going to go.

That rarely works out.

In the movie “Friends With Money,” Frances McDormand’s character has this exchange with her husband.

Jane: I feel there’s no more wondering what’s it gonna be like.

Aaron: Like what’s gonna be like?

Jane: My fabulous life.

When I was in college studying to be a reporter, I would never have guessed that at this point in my life, I would be where I am today: struggling to figure out where I go next. Juggling a lot of not-so-great options and facing a mountain of rejection that seems endless.

It’s not that I thought I would be super successful or famous. But I thought I would be…settled. I am so not settled.

I’ve spent a lot of the last two years learning to be OK with that.

Along the way, I’ve had experiences like my financial advisor asking if it bothered me that I was considering taking a temp job, like working on the phones at Lands’ End, because it meant I wasn’t as successful as other people my age.

--

--

Adam J. Blust
Mighty Forces

Writing memoir and memoir-adjacent stories. Hoping that exploring the past will illuminate the future. “How’s that working out for you, being clever?”