Zoom job interviews…IN SPAAAACE!

They suck there, too

Adam J. Blust
Mighty Forces

--

Nurse Chapel interviews with a Vulcan | Image courtesy of Paramount

Even in 2259, Zoom job interviews are the worst.

In “Star Trek: Strange New Worlds” Season 2 Episode 5, “Charades,” Nurse Christine Chapel has an interview on the Enterprise for a Vulcan science fellowship. Since I can’t find a video clip of this, here’s a transcript of the two short scenes.

Christine: Hi, I’m Christine. Apologies for the delay.

Vulcan: I read your essay, Miss Chapel, and frankly, I’m not impressed.

Christine: Oh, I’m sorry you didn’t like what I had to say.

Vulcan: Your reproduction of the principles were sloppy, you did not recreate the proper syntax, and your word choice varied too much from the original.

Christine: I was just trying not to repeat them word for word.

Vulcan: Memorization is a core part of this fellowship. You must commit to memory a year’s material to even be considered for my seminar.

Christine: Well, I just thought that maybe my field work would be relevant, given that I’ve made several discoveries.

Vulcan: Field work. Hmm. I will glance at it. That is all.

Christine: What? We’re done?

Vulcan: I have all I need. We will contact you. Good

--

--

Adam J. Blust
Mighty Forces

Writing memoir and memoir-adjacent stories. Hoping that exploring the past will illuminate the future. “How’s that working out for you, being clever?”