Migratory Notes
Published in

Migratory Notes

Migratory Notes Town Hall: Covering Haitian Migration

When: 6.24.21/ 5:30 PT/ 7:30 CT/ 8:30 ET

Featured Speakers & Participants:

In recent years, Haitians fleeing natural disasters, political instability and poverty have found new places to settle: Brazil, Chile, and increasingly Mexican border towns. While the United States recently extended Temporary Protective Status to 100,000 residents, that does not provide legal entry for Haitians not already in the United States. We spoke with journalists about the context and history of why people leave Haiti, growing migrant communities on the border in Mexico, as well as the pressing issues facing diaspora communities throughout the U.S.

--

--

--

A weekly informed and concise guide to immigration news.

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
Daniela Gerson

Daniela Gerson

Ass’t Prof @CSUNJournalism and Co-creator #MigratoryNotes. Subscribe for free: https://bit.ly/2tkethJ @dhgerson

More from Medium

GTA Online: The Contract DLC Review

Why Am I Still Using WordPress for All My Details & Deep Writing

FreeRoss DAO Community Call — 21 January 2022

RUBY and MAVIA are the focus points within Heroes of Mavia; they ebb and flow between governance…