Efficiently Parsing Nessus Data

Rio Darmawan
MII Cyber Security Consulting Services
3 min readJul 8, 2024

Hello everyone, I want to share how I process a lot of data from various segments in my vulnerability assessment project using Nessus. In the last few months I have been involved in a vulnerability assessment project, in this client I was involved in a large network network and had many segments. Everything went smoothly during the scanning process, but at the end of this project my client asked me to make a summary report in a short time.My problem is how going to go through one by one Nessus file, extract it out? load a large number of vulnerability results and post them in a report? too much data was used, and I ran out of time to make this report.

Parsing Nessus Data

Day after day, I try surf the internet trying to find something that would make my job easier. i found this blog from that blog referred me to a script on github here. This tool is so sick!! I really didn’t expect that this tool could make my work easier. all I have to do is put my nessus output (.nessus / .XML) into one folder and the parser will run and combine all the report of those seperate Nessus output. BAM!! within seconds you would get your output and the result is very beautiful

How To Use

  1. The first step is export your nessus scanning results.

2. put the script and nessus output in same folder

3. wait until the process successfully you will get file .xlsx

4. open with excel, and you will see the results parser

host scan data
scan information
summary vulnerability
Vulnerability Results
Summary Report Data

I hope this article can help others who are experiencing a similar situation as mine.

--

--